October 28-29, 2024 | Boston, MA

Identifying and Advancing Novel Pain Drugs Through Preclinical, Clinical Development and Commercialization

Preliminary 2024 Summit Speaking Faculty

CHAIRPERSON: <p>William Schmidt, Ph.D.</p>

William Schmidt, Ph.D.


NorthStar Consulting

Robert Dworkin, Ph.D.
Robert Dworkin, Ph.D.Professor of Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine, Professor of Neurology

University of Rochester School of Medicine & Dentistry

John Markman, MD
John Markman, MDVice President Global Pain

Eli Lilly

Mary Ann Pelleymounter, Ph.D.
Mary Ann Pelleymounter, Ph.D.Program Director, NINDS, Division of Translational Research

National Institutes of Health

Ram Arudchandran, Ph.D.
Ram Arudchandran, Ph.D.Program Director

National Institute of Neurological Disorders & Stroke, National Institutes of Health

Christin Veasley
Christin VeasleyCo-Founder & Director

Chronic Pain Research Alliance

Neil Singla, MD
Neil Singla, MDChief Scientific Officer

Lotus Clinical Research

Geert Jan Groeneveld, Ph.D.
Geert Jan Groeneveld, Ph.D.Chief Executive Officer

Centre for Human Drug Research (CHDR)

Smriti Iyengar, Ph.D.
Smriti Iyengar, Ph.D.Program Director, Preclinical Screening Platform for Pain Program (PSPP), Division of Translational Research


Katie Holzer, Ph.D., LCSW
Katie Holzer, Ph.D., LCSWAssistant Professor of Anesthesiology

Washington University School of Medicine

Alan Prossin, MD
Alan Prossin, MDAssociate Professor, Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences

McGovern Medical School at UT Health

Todd Bertoch, MD
Todd Bertoch, MDChief Medical Officer

Cenexel JBR

Lynn Webster, MD
Lynn Webster, MDExecutive VP Scientific Affairs

Dr. Vince Clinical Research

Eric Nisenbaum, Ph.D.
Eric Nisenbaum, Ph.D.Sr. VP, President, Head Boston Innovation Hub

Grunenthal Group

D. Lynn Kirkpatrick, Ph.D.
D. Lynn Kirkpatrick, Ph.D.Chief Executive Officer

Ensysce Biosciences

Louis Premkumar, Ph.D.
Louis Premkumar, Ph.D.Professor of Pharmacology

Southern Illinois University Medicine

Stephen Martin, Ph.D.
Stephen Martin, Ph.D.Professor Emeritus of Chemistry

University of Texas at Austin



Michael Palfreyman, Ph.D., DSc
Michael Palfreyman, Ph.D., DScPresident

Palfreyman Biopharma Advisors

Robert Raffa, Ph.D.
Robert Raffa, Ph.D.Chief Scientific Officer


Professor Emeritus

Temple University School of Pharmacy

Elaine Chan, PharmD
Elaine Chan, PharmDExecutive Director, Medical Affairs

Scilex Pharmaceuticals

Roy Levitt, MD
Roy Levitt, MDFounder, Executive Chairman

Adolore Biotherapeutics

Professor of Clinical Anesthesiology

University of Miami School of Medicine

Erol Onel, MD
Erol Onel, MDChief Medical Officer

Cali Biosciences

MIchael Nemenov, Ph.D.
MIchael Nemenov, Ph.D.President, Chief Scientist


James Gilligan, Ph.D.
James Gilligan, Ph.D.President & Chief Scientific Officer

TRYP Therapeutics

David Roberson, Ph.D., MBA
David Roberson, Ph.D., MBAFounding CEO, Co-Inventor & Director

Blackbox Bio

Jose Moron-Conception, Ph.D.
Jose Moron-Conception, Ph.D.Henry E. Mallinckrodt Professor of Anesthesiology, Chief, Division of Basic Research in Anesthesiology, Washington University Pain Center

Washington University School of Medicine

Gregory Scherrer, PharmD, Ph.D.
Gregory Scherrer, PharmD, Ph.D.Associate Professor - Department of Cell Biology & Physiology

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Alban Latremoliere, Ph.D.
Alban Latremoliere, Ph.D.Assistant Professor of Neurosurgery, Neurosurgery Pain Research Institute

Johns Hopkins School of Medicine

About Us

Our conferences offer more than simply presentations; we offer an experience that encompasses learning, networking and professional growth. We focus on bringing life sciences industry professionals together to help move research forward.